In a ceremony held in PFC, under the aegis of Ministry of Power, Four (04) State Discoms namely Bihar, West Bengal, Telangana, and Tamil Nadu signed Power Purchase Agreements with PTC India Ltd. Simultaneously, Power Supply Agreements Seven (07) were also signed between the IPPs and PTC India Ltd.

The Successful Bidders were R.K.M PowergenPrivate Ltd. (550 MW); Jhabua Power Ltd (100 MW); M B Power (Madhya Pradesh) Ltd. (175 MW); SKS Power Generation (Chhattisgarh) Ltd. (300 MW); Jindal India Thermal Power Ltd. (125 MW); IL&FS Tamil Nadu Power Company Ltd. (550 MW) and Jaypee Power Ventures Ltd. (100 MW).

The States who will be procuring power are Bihar (200 MW); West Bengal (200 MW); Telangana (550 MW) and Tamil Nadu (550 MW) while Haryana has consented to sign for 400 MW.

The Agreements under the scheme were executed in presence o A. K.Bhalla, Secretary, MoP (GoI), Shri Rajeev Sharma, CMD PFC Ltd and Shri Deepak Amitabh, CMD PTC India Ltd., other Officials from PFCCL, PTC, Successful Bidders, and State Discoms.

Ministry of Power on April 10, 2018, had issued Guidelines to facilitate procurement of aggregated power of 2500 MW for 3 years under Pilot Scheme from coal-based commissioned power plants.

PFC Consulting Ltd., the Nodal Agency conducted Tariff Based Competitive Bidding on DEEP e-Bidding Portal for selection of developers wherein Procurement of 1900 MW was successfully undertaken at a discovered fixed tariff of Rs. 4.24/kWh without any escalation for next 3 years.

The market-oriented Agreements are expected to lessen the burden on State Discoms and would lead to efficient utilization of capacities presently un-utilized.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *