The Andhra Pradesh government has appointed 1984-batch IPS officer N Sambasiva Rao as the state police chief despite the Union Home Ministry rejecting his candidature on earlier occasions.Rao has been holding the DGP’s post as “full additional charge” since July 23, 2016, while his actual position was DGP (Coordination).The MHA had rejected the first list sent by the state government on October 23 and on November 2 wrote to the state asking it to prepare a panel afresh. The list contained names of seven DGP-rank IPS officers, including Sambasiva Rao.Taking it as an affront, the state government sent back the same list again and the MHA promptly rejected it a second time on November 20. Besides Rao, the MHA had objected to the names of S V Ramana Murthy (1982 batch) and M Malakondaiah (1985) as they are due to retire within a year.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *